Penboscot Bay Press Compass Logo

Penobscot Bay Press
Community Information Services

News Feature

Originally published in The Weekly Packet, January 9, 2014
Deadline nears for Brooksville nomination papers

by Anne Berleant

Thursday, January 16, is the date when nomination papers must be filed with the town clerk for open municipal and school seats. Elections will be held on March 3 for the following offices.

One three-year term as selectman; incumbent Richard Bakeman has taken out papers.

One three-year school board seat; Mike McMillan and incumbent Brad Jones have taken out papers.

Two three-year planning board seats; incumbents Denis Blodgett and Philip Wessel have taken out papers.

Three three-year Budget Committee seats; incumbents Basil Ladd, Matthew Freedman and John Kimball have taken out papers.

One-year terms for town clerk, tax collector and treasurer; incumbents Amber Bakeman, Yvonne Redman and Freida Peasley have taken out papers.

One-year term for fire chief; incumbent Matt Dow has taken out papers.

One-year term for road commissioner; incumbent Mark Blake has taken out papers.

Nomination papers will be accepted at the town office until 8 p.m. on Thursday, January 16.