Penboscot Bay Press Compass Logo

Penobscot Bay Press
Community Information Services

News Feature

The Island
Originally published in Island Ad-Vantages, January 23, 2014
Four candidates for second selectman seat in Deer Isle
Three candidates for two selectmen seats in Stonington

by Jessica Brophy

The deadline has passed to file nomination papers for island elected offices.

In Deer Isle, there are four candidates for the second selectman seat, currently held by Twyla Weed. The candidates are current Road Commissioner Paul Gray, Karen Gallela, Michele Dur and Ronald B. Eaton of Sunshine Road.

Mark Cormier and Ken Eaton are running for road commissioner.

Lorraine “Myra” Weed is on the ballot for treasurer/tax collector and Becky Knowlton for town clerk, the positions they currently hold.

In Stonington, there are two three-year selectmen seats available, the seats of Richard Larrabee Sr. and George Stevens. Larrabee, Stevens and Penobscot Bay Press general manager Benjamin Barrows are running for the two seats.

On the Stonington Sanitary District, there are two three-year terms available as well; one vacancy and the seat currently held by Ben Pitts. No one has filed nomination papers for those seats.

Three candidates are running for two three-year seats on the school board. Current board member Skip Greenlaw, Virginia Peacock and Milton “Skipper” Allen—all from Stonington—are running.

Write-in candidates can still run for any seat. Write-ins are encouraged to call the Island Ad-Vantages to be included in coverage.