Penboscot Bay Press Compass Logo

Penobscot Bay Press
Community Information Services

News Feature

Blue Hill
Originally published in The Weekly Packet, April 10, 2014
BHCS bands win gold awards at state jazz festival

Blue Hill student jazz band entertain at town meeting

Seventh-grade jazz musicians from Blue Hill Consolidated School, Maine are from left, Miriam Nelson, Michaela White, Marie-Louise Boulet and Tess Williamson with BHCS music director Bill Schubeck on piano play at the town meeting luncheon, organized by seventh graders on April 5, 2014.

Photo by Faith DeAmbrose Order prints of selected PBP photos.

The Blue Hill Consolidated School jazz bands came away from the State Middle School Jazz Festival with two Gold Awards, two Musicianship Awards and a second place, according to a news release from the school.

This was a tremendous showing for the students who have put in a lot of hard work, the release stated. The Eights placed second in their division and received a Gold Award (a 1 rating) for the second year in a row. Isla Brownlow earned a musicianship award for her trombone playing.

The Eights will play at the opening of the Union 93 Student Art Show at the Blue Hill Library Friday, April 11, at 4:30 p.m. At 6:30 p.m., the band will join the Brooklin Jazz Band at Fairwinds Florist on Main Street for a joint performance.

At the jazz festival, The Sevens earned a Gold Award. Tess Williamson received a musicianship award for her singing and trombone playing. The Sixes “played their hearts out” with an excellent showing for their first year.

“I am so proud of all the students!” said band director Bill Schubeck. “And a special thanks to the parents who helped out all day making our performance possible.”

Receiving 1 ratings on their solos were eighth graders Alec Cole, Nellie Haldane, Mazie Smallidge, Isla Brownlow, Ben Cole, Taylor Schildroth, Max Mattson, Ellie Gellerson, Dylan Nason, Kessler Parrott, and Gavin Mote; seventh graders Marie-Louise Boulet, Miriam Nelson, Tess Williamson, Susanna Jakub, Lillie Maier, Matt Billings, Emma McKechnie, Ivy Manner-Wheeldon, Michaela White; and sixth graders Cameron Stewart, Will Larson, Dawson Astbury, Aidan Stearns, Duncan Howell, Ian Howell, and Grayson Eaton.