Penboscot Bay Press Compass Logo

Penobscot Bay Press
Community Information Services

Town Information

Town Contact InformationMunicipal Information
Deer Isle by the NumbersEducation
Emergency & Public Services Recreation

Deer Isle Town Map
Note: This file is in PDF format and require Adobe® Reader® software to load. For more information or to download Adobe® Reader® please visit

Town Contact Information
Return to top

Town of Deer Isle, P. O. Box 46, Deer Isle, ME
Telephone: 207-348-6060

Fax 348-9398; Selectmen’s office: 348-2324
Treasurer/Tax Collector: Mon., Tue., Wed., Fri., 9 a.m.-12 p.m., Thu., 4-7 p.m.
Town Clerk: Mon., Wed., 9 a.m.-12 p.m., Thu., 4-7 p.m.
Selectmen’s Office: Mon.-Fri., 12-4 p.m.
Selectmen meet Thu., 6 p.m., town hall.

Municipal Information
Return to top

Town Description

Deer Isle is a blend of the many reasons that natives never want to leave and visitors long to stay forever. The natural beauty of the area, its history, the fishing industry, Haystack Mountain School of Crafts and more all draw those who come to truly value the town for its breadth of unique offerings.

Traditional trades included fishing and boatbuilding. Deer Isle’s maritime traditions are alive today in the fishing boats, which work off her coast, and in the legions of sailors trained in her waters. Perhaps the best known of earlier sailors were the America’s Cup crews of 1895 and 1899, composed entirely of Deer Isle men. Establishing a formidable reputation, the Deer Isle crews won each of the races in which they participated.

Still the home of winning teams, the Island schools’ chess teams regularly win accolades at the state and national championship levels. Located here are the Island’s two largest public and private employers: the elementary and high school complex and the nonprofit Island Nursing Home and Care Center, founded in 1975.

Town Officials

First Selectman
Neville Hardy, 348-2324

Second Selectman
Twyla Weed, 348-6921

Third Selectman
Lew Ellis, 348-2421

Town Clerk & Registrar
Becky Knowlton, 348-6060

Treasurer/Tax Collector
Myra (Lorraine) Weed, 348-6060

Animal Control Officer
Allan van Reijsen 401-829-2303

Appeals Board
George Aldrich, chmn. 348-6676
Anthony Eaton 348-2862
Holly Eaton 348-2495
Danny Hypes 348-9921
Thomas McGuire
Rosemary Eaton

Code Enforcement Officer, Alternate Plumbing Inspector
Hubert Billings, 348-6677

Conservation Commission
Marion Foss, 348-6939
Jeannine Leavenworth
Mary Cevasco
Stephen Rowan

Island Recreation Committee
Walter Kumiega III, 348-2548
Eva Weed, Haley McDonald, Elissa Haskell, Garrett Aldrich, Rebecca Emerson, Amanda Poyant

Planning Board
Jeremy Stewart, chmn., 348-9963
Eric Ziner, 348-2601
Daniel Owens
Melissa Proper
David Hutchinson
Tom Leigh, alt.

Plumbing Inspector
Darrell Brown, 348-2360

Road Commissioner
Paul Gray, 348-5202

Clam Committee
Chip Cochrane, 348-5692
Chandler Eaton, 348-6294
Alton Smith, Herbert Carter Jr.

Tax Information

Bills mailed first part of July and due Aug. 31.
Interest on 2011 unpaid bills: 7 percent.
To appeal the assessment, see the assessors.

Town Ordinances

Shoreland zoning, flood plain, subdivision, shellfish conservation.


Building: Hubert Billings
Plumbing: Darrell Brown

Post Offices

Deer Isle 04627
Lobby: Mon.-Fri., 7:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.; Sat., 7:30-11:30 a.m.
Window: Mon.-Fri., 9 a.m.-12 p.m. and 1:30-4 p.m.; Sat., 8-11 a.m.

Little Deer Isle 04650
Lobby: Mon.-Fri., 7:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.; Sat., 7:30-11:30 a.m.
Window: Mon.-Fri., 7:30 a.m.-12 p.m. and 1-4 p.m.; Sat., 7:30-11 a.m.

Sunset 04683 (Hours subject to change)
Lobby: Mon.-Fri., 7:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.; Sat., 7:30-11:30 a.m.
Window: Mon.-Fri., 7:30-11:30 a.m. and 12:30-4 p.m.; Sat., 7:30-11 a.m.

Deer Isle by the Numbers
Return to top

Geographic Profile

Total area: 18,560 acres (29.0 sq. mi.)
Land: 18,477 acres
Bog: 1,702 acres
Flood: 508 acres
Inland water: 83 acres
Shoreline: 87.0 miles


2010: 1,975
2000: 1,876
1990: 1,829

Return to top

Education Contact Numbers

Union 76
9 Caterpillar Hill Rd., Sargentville
Mark Jenkins, supt. 348-9100
fax 359-8451

Deer Isle-Stonington Elementary School
Michael Benjamin, prin., 348-6301
fax 348-6304

Deer Isle-Stonington High School
Todd West, prin., 348-2303
fax 348-2304

CSD 13 Directors (Island-wide)
Mark Cormier, chmn. 348-6427
Linda Nelson 348-2669
Andrew Vaughn 348-6667
Stephen York 367-5807
Skip Greenlaw 367-5810
Holly Eaton 348-2495

CSD Board meetings:
First Tue. of month, 6 p.m.

Enrollment figures

Oct 12
Grades K-8 144
Grades 9-12 79

Emergency & Public Services
Return to top


Trash & Recycling

Open to Deer Isle residents with dump stickers only. Dump hours: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Tue., Wed., Fri., Sat., Sun. Items accepted for recycling: newspapers, magazines, telephone directories, corrugated cardboard, tin cans, aluminum foil, #2 plastic, lobster traps.

Public Restrooms

Former elementary school (summer only).

Fire Department

To report a fire: 911

Non-emergency numbers:
Chief, Brent Morey, 348-6133
Asst. Chief, Donn Heanssler, 348-6627
Asst. Chief, John Weed, 348-6092
Asst. Chief, James Foley, 348-2706
Station (non-emergency), 348-6618
Fire permits available from fire chief. Meets first, second and third Wed., 7 p.m.

Return to top

Walking Trails

Barred Island Preserve (Sunset), Bowcat Overlook (LDI), Causeway Beach, Mariner’s Park (DI), Edgar M. Tennis Preserve (Sunshine), Pine Hill Preserve (LDI), Reach Beach (at Gray’s Cove, DI), Scott’s Landing (DI), and Shore Acres Preserve (Greenlaw District Rd., DI).

Public Landings

South of village, public launch area, across from the Mill Pond. Parking is limited, no ramp or float.


Forest Hill on Reach Rd.; Hillside, Sunset; Howard’s Hill, Little Deer Isle; Gray’s Hill, Eggemoggin Rd., Little Deer Isle; Mt. Adams and The Old Cemetery, Deer Isle; Mt. Warren, South Deer Isle.